hope college  >  academic departments  >  political science   

Home <



Major & Minor Requirements




Student Opportunities


Experiential Learning


Washington Honors Semester




Student & Faculty Accomplishments


Why Major in Political Science?


Alumni Information and Profiles


What's New


Pi Sigma Alpha

Eligible department majors and minors can be part of Pi Sigma Alpha, the national political science honors society. Hope College's chapter is known as Eta Kappa and was chartered in 1975.

The Purposes of Pi Sigma Alpha are:

  1. To promote worthwhile curricular and extracurricular activities related to Political Science;
  2. To stimulate scholarship and intelligent interest in Political Science;
  3. To stimulate active interest in serving as productive citizens in a working representative democracy;
  4. To support the activities of the Eta Kappa Chapter on Hope College's campus.

Qualifications for Membership

  • Must have political science GPAs of at least 3.2
  • Must have an overall GPA ranking in the top third of your class
  • Must have earned at least 10 credits in Political Science
  • Must have taken at least one 295 or 300-level course in Political Science

The application process for Pi Sigma Alpha begins in the fall, when eligible students are notified. Members then pay a $40 lifetime membership fee to the national office.

The advisor to the Eta Kappa chapter of Pi Sigma Alpha is currently Dr. Virginia Beard. Please contact her with any questions.


Past PSA members engaged in debate


Anne Brown
Gina Debiasi
William DeBoer
Jay Glover
Emily Handy
Sophia Hart
Kelsey Herbert
Kyla Koboski
Rachel Kuiper
Matthew Mankivsky
Colin Mosier
Jason Muller
Samantha Poon
Stephanie Rogers
Shubham Sapkota
Erica Simpson
Abby Wilhelm

President Colin Lawrence, left, and Vice President John Dulmes


National Pi Sigma Alpha site