Faculty and Staff

Our academic faculty and athletic coaches are proven leaders and experts in their field of study or sport.

All full-time coaches participate in a teacher/coach model, in which they live out a healthy balance between academics, athletics and/or administration. We believe that student-athletes should be mentored by teacher-coaches, who understand that athletics is a value-added component to a liberal arts education.

Department Chair

Athletic Directors

  • A photo of Timothy Schoonveld

    Timothy Schoonveld

    Assistant Professor of Kinesiology and Co-Director of Athletics

    Work616.395.7698

    schoonveld@hope.edu

    DeVos Fieldhouse 222 Fairbanks Avenue Holland, MI 49423-3605

Faculty

  • A photo of Dr. Kevin Cole

    Dr. Kevin Cole

    Associate Professor of Kinesiology/Track & Field Coach

    Work616.395.7138

    cole@hope.edu

    DeVos Fieldhouse 222 Fairbanks Avenue Holland, MI 49423-3605

  • Meg Frens

    Assistant Professor of Kinesiology and Athletic Trainer

    Work616.395.7450

    frens@hope.edu

    DeVos Fieldhouse 222 Fairbanks Avenue Holland, MI 49423-3735

  • A photo of Tonia Gruppen

    Tonia Gruppen

    Assistant Professor of Kinesiology and Athletic Trainer

    Work616.395.7455

    gruppen@hope.edu

    DeVos Fieldhouse 222 Fairbanks Avenue Holland, MI 49423-3624

  • A photo of Nancy Kamstra

    Nancy Kamstra

    Associate Professor of Kinesiology

    Work616.395.7701

    kamstra@hope.edu

    DeVos Fieldhouse 222 Fairbanks Avenue Holland, MI 49423-3624

  • A photo of Timothy Koberna

    Timothy Koberna

    Assistant Professor of Kinesiology and Head Athletic Trainer

    Work616.395.7705

    koberna@hope.edu

    DeVos Fieldhouse 222 Fairbanks Avenue Holland, MI 49423-3698

  • A photo of Greg Mitchell

    Greg Mitchell

    Assistant Professor of Kinesiology/Men's Basketball Coach

    Work616.395.7070

    mitchell@hope.edu

    DeVos Fieldhouse 222 Fairbanks Holland, MI 49423

  • A photo of Dr. Kyle Morrison

    Dr. Kyle Morrison

    Assistant Professor of Kinesiology

    Work616.395.7070

    morrison@hope.edu

    DeVos Fieldhouse 222 Fairbanks Avenue Holland, MI 49423-3735

  • A photo of Dr. Mark Northuis

    Dr. Mark Northuis

    Professor of Kinesiology/Cross Country Coach

    Work616.395.7689

    northuis@hope.edu

    DeVos Fieldhouse 222 Fairbanks Avenue Holland, MI 49423-3735

  • A photo of Dr. John Patnott

    Dr. John Patnott

    Professor of Kinesiology/Swimming & Diving Coach

    Work616.395.7697

    patnott@hope.edu

    DeVos Fieldhouse 222 Fairbanks Avenue Holland, MI 49423-3735

  • A photo of Becky Schmidt

    Becky Schmidt

    Associate Professor of Kinesiology/Volleyball Coach

    Work616.395.7682

    schmidt@hope.edu

    DeVos Fieldhouse 222 Fairbanks Avenue Holland, MI 49423-3605

  • A photo of Stein Slette

    Stein Slette

    Assistant Professor of Kinesiology

    Work616.395.7289

    slette@hope.edu

    DeVos Fieldhouse 222 Fairbanks Avenue Holland, MI 49423-3605

  • A photo of Peter Stuursma

    Peter Stuursma

    Associate Professor of Kinesiology/Football Coach

    Work616.395.7070

    stuursma@hope.edu

    DeVos Fieldhouse 222 Fairbanks Avenue Holland, MI 49423

Staff

Part-Time Head Coaches

  • A photo of Robert Ebels

    Robert Ebels

    Men's Golf Coach

    Work616.395.7070

    ebelsr@hope.edu

    DeVos Fieldhouse 222 Fairbanks Avenue Holland, MI 49423-3735

  • A photo of Michael Schanhals

    Michael Schanhals

    Coach-Men's Lacrosse

    Work616.395.7070

    schanhals@hope.edu

    DeVos Fieldhouse 222 Fairbanks Avenue Holland, MI 49423-3698

  • A photo of Gregory Stafford

    Gregory Stafford

    Women's Golf Coach

    Work616.395.7070

    stafford@hope.edu

    DeVos Fieldhouse 222 Fairbanks Avenue Holland, MI 49423-3735

  • A photo of Kimberly Vincent

    Kimberly Vincent

    Coach-Women's Lacrosse

    Work616.395.7070

    vincentk@hope.edu

    DeVos Fieldhouse 222 Fairbanks Holland, MI 49423

Assistant Coaches

  • A photo of Mike Aldrich

    Mike Aldrich

    Men's Basketball Coach

    Work616.395.7070

    michael.aldrich@hope.edu

    DeVos Fieldhouse 222 Fairbanks Avenue Holland, MI 49423-3605

  • Colly Carlson

    Women's Basketball Coach

    Work616.395.7070

    carlsonc@hope.edu

    DeVos Fieldhouse 222 Fairbanks Avenue Holland, MI 49423-3605

  • A photo of Jeff Carlson

    Jeff Carlson

    Men's Basketball Coach

    Work616.745.8586

    carlson@hope.edu

    Zeeland, MI 49464

  • A photo of Tom Davelaar

    Tom Davelaar

    Adjunct Assistant Professor of Kinesiology/Assistant Men's Basketball Coach

    Work616.395.7539

    davelaar@hope.edu

    DeVos Fieldhouse 222 Fairbanks Avenue Holland, MI 49423-3735

  • Hannah Deak

    Work616.395.7070

    deak@hope.edu

    DeVos Fieldhouse 222 Fairbanks Avenue Holland, MI 49423

  • A photo of Jason Duram

    Jason Duram

    Work616.395.7070

    duram@hope.edu

    DeVos Fieldhouse 222 Fairbanks Avenue Holland, MI 49423

  • A photo of Zack Golin

    Zack Golin

    Diving Coach

    Work616.395.7070

    golin@hope.edu

    DeVos Fieldhouse 222 Fairbanks Avenue Holland, MI 49423-3735

  • A photo of Shawn Jackson

    Shawn Jackson

    Work616.395.7070

    jacksons@hope.edu

    DeVos Fieldhouse 222 Fairbanks Avenue Holland, MI 49423

  • A photo of Jean Kegerreis

    Jean Kegerreis

    Women's Volleyball Coach

    Work616.395.7070

    kegerreis@hope.edu

    DeVos Fieldhouse 222 Fairbanks Avenue Holland, MI 49423-3624

  • A photo of Michael Lapciuk

    Michael Lapciuk

    Work616.395.7070

    lapciuk@hope.edu

    DeVos Fieldhouse 222 Fairbanks Avenue Holland, MI 49423

  • A photo of Jon Lunderberg

    Jon Lunderberg

    Track Coach

    Work616.395.7070

    lunderbergj@hope.edu

    DeVos Fieldhouse 222 Fairbanks Avenue Holland, MI 49423-3605

  • Paul Markel

    Track Coach

    Work616.395.7070

    markel@hope.edu

    DeVos Fieldhouse 222 Fairbanks Avenue Holland, MI 49423-3624

  • Dean Morehouse

    Coach-Women's Basketball

    Work616.395.7070

    morehoused@hope.edu

    DeVos Fieldhouse 222 Fairbanks Avenue Holland, MI 49423-3624

  • A photo of Chad Ruby

    Chad Ruby

    Men's Baseball Coach

    Work616.395.7070

    DeVos Fieldhouse 222 Fairbanks Avenue Holland, MI 49423-3624

  • A photo of Chad Sampo

    Chad Sampo

    Work616.395.7070

    sampo@hope.edu

    DeVos Fieldhouse 222 Fairbanks Avenue Holland, MI 49423

  • Chris Scheldt Jr.

    Men's Lacrosse Coach

    Work616.395.7070

    scheldt@hope.edu

    DeVos Fieldhouse 222 Fairbanks Holland, MI 49423

  • A photo of Lee Schopp

    Lee Schopp

    Men's Soccer Coach

    Work616.395.7070

    schopp@hope.edu

    DeVos Fieldhouse 222 Fairbanks Avenue Holland, MI 49423-3624

  • A photo of Tony Semple

    Tony Semple

    Work616.395.7070

    semple@hope.edu

    DeVos Fieldhouse 222 Fairbanks Avenue Holland, MI 49423

  • Elliot Slenk

    Women's Soccer Coach

    Work616.395.7070

    slenk@hope.edu

    DeVos Fieldhouse 222 Fairbanks Holland, MI 49423-3698

  • Kristen Slotman

    Work616.395.7070

    slotman@hope.edu

    DeVos Fieldhouse 222 Fairbanks Avenue Holland, MI 49423

  • Ellen Stremler

    Work616.395.7070

    stremler@hope.edu

    DeVos Fieldhouse 222 Fairbanks Avenue Holland, MI 49423

  • A photo of Brian VanZanten

    Brian VanZanten

    Cross Country Coach

    Work616.395.7070

    vanzanten@hope.edu

    DeVos Fieldhouse 222 Fairbanks Avenue Holland, MI 49423-3735

  • A photo of Austin Veltman

    Austin Veltman

    Coach-Swimming

    Work616.395.7070

    veltmana@hope.edu

    DeVos Fieldhouse 222 Fairbanks Avenue Holland, MI 49423-3698

  • Kara Winton

    Track Coach

    DeVos Fieldhouse 222 Fairbanks Holland, MI 49423-3698

  • A photo of Lori Zimmerman

    Lori Zimmerman

    Women's LaCrosse Coach

    Work616.395.7070

    zimmermanl@hope.edu

    DeVos Fieldhouse 222 Fairbanks Holland, MI 49423-3698

Part-Time Faculty

  • Diana Albers

    Lecturer in Kinesiology

    DeVos Fieldhouse 222 Fairbanks Avenue Holland, MI 49423-3735

  • KayLynn Beltman

    Kinesiology Lecturer

    Work616.395.7070

    beltman@hope.edu

    DeVos Fieldhouse 222 Fairbanks Avenue Holland, MI 49423-3605

  • Jason Burgess

    Lecturer in Kinesiology

    Work616.395.7070

    DeVos Fieldhouse 222 Fairbanks Avenue Holland, MI 49423

  • A photo of Eva Folkert

    Eva Folkert

    Lecturer/IDS

    Work616.395.7070

    folkert@hope.edu

    DeVos Fieldhouse 222 Fairbanks Avenue Holland, MI 49423-3735

  • Sandi Karafa

    Part Time Lecturer for Kinesiology Department

    Work616.395.7070

    DeVos Fieldhouse 222 Fairbanks Avenue Holland, MI 49423-3605

  • Joan Kroeze

    Lecturer in Kinesiology

    Work616.395.7070

    kroeze@hope.edu

    DeVos Fieldhouse 222 Fairbanks Avenue Holland, MI 49423-3605

  • A photo of Nate Price

    Nate Price

    Lecturer in Kinesiology

    Work616.395.4965

    price@hope.edu

    301 Fairbanks Avenue Holland, MI 49423-3698

  • Dr. Steve Van Wylen

    Lecturer in Kinesiology

    Work616.395.7070

    vanwylens@hope.edu

    DeVos Fieldhouse 222 Fairbanks Avenue Holland, MI 49423-3605