Faculty and Staff

Our talented faculty’s passion for teaching plays out in a diverse range of perspectives, styles and approaches to the classroom.

Our professors are active scholars who regularly publish and present their work on such topics as the U.S. Supreme Court, the role of faith in politics, global poverty and the status of women in developing countries.

 

Department Chair

  • A photo of Dr. David Ryden

    Dr. David Ryden

    Professor of Political Science and Department Chair

    Work616.395.7546

    ryden@hope.edu

    Lubbers Hall-Room 205 126 East 10th Street Holland, MI 49423-3516

Faculty

  • A photo of Dr. Virginia Beard

    Dr. Virginia Beard

    Associate Professor of Political Science

    Work616.395.7544

    beard@hope.edu

    Lubbers Hall-Room 207 126 East 10th Street Holland, MI 49423-3516

  • A photo of Dr. Annie Dandavati

    Dr. Annie Dandavati

    Executive Director of The Philadelphia Center

    Work215.735.7300

    dandavati@hope.edu

    North American Building 121 South Broad Street Floor 7 Philadelphia, PA 19107-4533

  • A photo of Dr. Jeffrey Polet

    Dr. Jeffrey Polet

    Professor of Political Science

    Work616.395.7547

    polet@hope.edu

    Lubbers Hall-Room 206 126 East 10th Street Holland, MI 49423-3516

  • A photo of Dr. Joel Toppen

    Dr. Joel Toppen

    Associate Professor of Political Science

    Work616.395.7458

    toppen@hope.edu

    Lubbers Hall-Room 202 126 East 10th Street Holland, MI 49423-3516

Staff

  • Cory Lakatos

    Office Manager

    Work616.395.7545

    lakatos@hope.edu

    Lubbers Hall-Room 226 126 East 10th Street Holland, MI 49423