Academic Calendar

2016–2017

Fall Semester 2016

August 2326, Tue.Fri. International Student Orientation
August 2529, Thu.Mon. Pre-College Conference
August 26, Fri. College Housing Opens for New Students, 10 a.m.
August 2629, Fri.Mon. New Student Orientation
August 28, Sun. College Housing Opens for Returning Students, 10 a.m.
August 28, Sun. Convocation for New Students and Parents, 2 p.m.
August 30, Tue. Classes Begin, 8 a.m.
September 5, Mon. Labor Day; Classes in Session
September 7, Wed. Last Day to Enroll for Credit or Drop First-Half and Full Semester Courses
September 27, Tue. Opening Convocation  for Critical Issues Symposium, 7 p.m.
September 28, Wed. Critical Issues Symposium; Day Classes Not in Session, Evening Classes In Session
September 30, Fri. Last Day to Withdraw for a “W” Grade or Pass/Fail First-Half Courses
October 7, Fri. Fall Recess Begins, 6 p.m.
October 12, Wed. Fall Recess Ends, 8 a.m. Mon. Schedule in Effect
October 19, Wed. Midterm Grades Due, 4 p.m.
October 19, Wed. First-Half Semester Courses End
October 20, Thu. Last- Half Semester Courses Begin
October 2123, Fri.–Sun. Homecoming Weekend
October 28, Fri. Last Day to Enroll for Credit or Drop Last-Half Courses
Oct. 28–30, Fri.Sun. Family Weekend
November 4, Fri. Last Day to Withdraw for a “W” Grade or Pass/Fail Full Semester Courses
November 79, Mon.Wed. Online Registration for Spring (students with 20 or more credits)
November 1011, Thurs.Fri. In Person Registration for Spring (first years and students with fewer than 20 credits)
November 22, Tue. Last Day to Withdraw for a “W” Grade or Pass/Fail Last-Half Courses
November 24, Thu. Thanksgiving Recess Begins, 8 a.m.
November 28, Mon. Thanksgiving Recess Ends, 8 a.m.
December 9, Fri. Last Day of Classes
December 1216, Mon.Fri. Semester Examinations
December 16, Fri. College Housing Closes, 5 p.m.
December 20, Tue. Final Grades Due, 4 p.m.

Spring Semester 2017

January 7, Sat. College Housing Opens, 12 Noon
January 9, Mon. Classes Begin, 8 a.m.
January 18, Wed. Last Day to Enroll for Credit or Drop First-Half and Full Semester Courses
January 27, Fri. Incomplete (I) Grades from Fall Semester become "F"
February 10, Fri. Last Day to Withdraw for a “W” Grade or Pass/Fail First-Half Courses
February 10, Fri. Winter Recess Begins, 6 p.m.
February 15, Wed. Winter Recess Ends, 8 a.m. Mon. Schedule in Effect
March 1, Wed. Midterm Grades Due, 4 p.m.
March 1, Wed. First-Half Semester Courses End
March 2, Thu. Last-Half Semester Courses Begin
March 9, Thu. Last Day to Enroll for Credit or Drop Last-Half Courses
March 16, Thu. Last Day to Withdraw for a “W” Grade or Pass/Fail Full Semester Courses
March 17, Fri. Spring Recess Begins, 8 a.m.
March 27, Mon. Spring Recess Ends, 8 a.m.
April 3–5, Mon.Wed Online Registration for Fall (students with 18 or more credits)
April 67, Thurs.Fri. In Person Registration for Fall (students with fewer than 18 credits)
April 13, Thu. Last day to Withdraw for a “W" Grade or Pass/Fail Last-Half Courses
April 14, Fri. Good Fri.; Classes Not in Session, Offices Closed
April 17, Mon. Easter Holiday; Classes Not in Session, Offices Open
April 27, Thu. Honors Convocation, Dimnent Chapel, 7 p.m.
April 28, Fri. Spring Festival; Classes Dismissed at 3 p.m.
April 2829, Fri.-Sat. Alumni Weekend
May 15, Mon.-Fri. Semester Examinations
May 5, Fri. College Housing Closes for Students Not Participating in Commencement, 5 p.m.
May 7, Sun. Baccalaureate and Commencement
May 8, Mon. College Housing Closes for Students Participating in Commencement, 12 Noon
May 10, Wed. Final Grades Due, 4 p.m.

May Term 2017

May 8, Mon. Classes Begin, 9 a.m.
May 10, Wed. Last Day to Enroll for Credit or Drop Courses
May 12, Fri. Last Day to Withdraw (50% Refund) for a “W” Grade
May 25, Thu. Last Day to Withdraw (No Refund) for a “W” Grade or Pass/Fail
May 29, Mon. Memorial Day; Classes Not in Session, Offices Closed
June 2, Fri. May Term Ends

June Term 2017

June 5, Mon. Classes Begin, 9 a.m.
June 7, Wed. Last Day to Enroll for Credit or Drop Courses
June 9, Fri. Last Day to Withdraw (50% Refund) for a “W” Grade
June 22, Thu. Last Day to Withdraw (No Refund) for a “W" Grade or Pass/Fail
June 23, Fri. Incomplete (I) grades from Spring Semester become "F"
June 30, Fri. June Term Ends

July Term 2017

July 3-4, Mon.-Tue. July 4th; Classes Not in Session, Offices Closed
July 5, Wed. Classes Begin, 9 a.m.
July 7, Fri. Last Day to Enroll for Credit or Drop Courses
July 11, Tue. Last Day to Withdraw (50% Refund) for a “W” Grade
July 21, Fri. Last Day to Withdraw (No Refund) for a “W” Grade or Pass/Fail
July 28, Fri. July Term Ends