History of Lubbers Hall
Lubbers Hall, constructed in 1942, is a charming building with Dutch-influenced architecture. It currently houses the departments of English, history, political science, philosophy and religion. The building is named in honor of Dr. Irwin J. Lubbers, who served as Hope’s seventh president from 1945–1963.
Built and dedicated in 1942, Lubbers Hall was originally purposed as the college’s science center, as well as housing Hope’s theatre program. Each program later moved to their current locations in the 70s, at which point Lubbers was renovated to house the humanities and social science programs.
A major renovation of the Lubbers Hall took place in 2006. The $3 million renovation project added 28 more offices, raising the total to over 60. The project also included adding air conditioning, a new fire system with interior sprinklers and replacing the windows. The building totals about 25,000 square feet, has three main floors and six classroom
- Lubbers Hall is the fifth-oldest building on campus
- The 2006 renovation was funded through the college’s "Legacies: A Vision of Hope" campaign, which raised over $137.5 million
Hope’s theatre program was housed in the fourth-floor attic, known as the "loft," for many years