posted March 29, 2013

Seniors Named to Phi Beta Kappa

Sixty-four of Hope College’s graduating seniors and recent graduates are being initiated into the Zeta of Michigan chapter of Phi Beta Kappa, the nation’s oldest scholastic honorary society.

For more than 200 years, election to Phi Beta Kappa has been a recognition of intellectual capacity well-employed, especially in acquiring an education in the liberal arts and sciences. The objectives encouraged by Phi Beta Kappa include intellectual honesty and tolerance, range of intellectual interests and understanding--not merely knowledge.

Hope faculty who are members of Phi Beta Kappa elected the students in recognition of their high grade point average in liberal arts courses, their broad cultural interests, and their independent and creative scholarly activities outside the classroom.

A formal initiation ceremony and reception will take place on Sunday, April 21, at 2 p.m. in Winants Auditorium of Graves Hall. The honorees will also be recognized during the college’s Honors Convocation on Thursday, April 25, at 7 p.m. in Dimnent Memorial Chapel.

Hope College is one of only 280 colleges and universities in the country and eight in Michigan to have a chapter of Phi Beta Kappa. Hope’s chapter was chartered in 1971.

Hope College Phi Beta Kappa Honorees 

Athina Isabelle Jeanne Alvarez, Grand Rapids
Casey Elizabeth Baxter, Saline
Elizabeth Joy Billquist, Saint Charles, Ill.
Derek Cornelius Blok, Schoolcraft
Kristen Leigh Bosch, Allendale
James Roderick Bour, Kalamazoo
Katherine Ann Brune, Midland
Erica Lynn Budge, Portage
Katherine Ann Callam, Holland
Ariana Nicole Cappuccitti, Mount Prospect, Ill.
Rachel Hayoung Cho, Barrington, Ill.
Leigh Jensen Clouse, Ada
Andrew Edwin Cook, Frankfort, Ill.
Cassondra Lee Cramer, Gobles
Irma Cruz, Los Angeles, Calif.
Faith Alyssa DeVries, Stillman Valley, Ill.
Howard Andrew Dobbs, Warrenville, Ill.
Matthew Travis Eiles, Beaverton, Ore.
Meagan Brooke Elinski, Jackson
Rachel Marie Elzinga, Doylestown, Pa.
Anna Helen Filcik, Holland
Samuel Harrison Fishman, Skokie, Ill.
Katherine Ann Genzink, Holland
Elizabeth Adele Gerometta, Chesterton, Ind.
Erin Elizabeth Gilbert, Marshall
Danielle Erin Goodman, Big Rapids
Jacob Christopher Green, New Hudson
Caroline Elizabeth Haley, Lowell, Mass.
Anne Michelle Harrison, Fulton, Ill.
Megan Christina Hauck, Bridgman
Erin Elizabeth Holstad, Traverse City
Andrea Joy Houg, Deerfield, Ill.
Sa'eed Adah Husaini, Jos, Nigeria
Lena Anne Jaynes, Glen Ellyn, Ill.
Megan Elizabeth Johnson, Saline
Jessica Catherine Kozack, Carol Stream, Ill.
Michael Thomas Kroneman, Okemos
Leah Marie LaBarge, Hudsonville
Megan Loree Ludwig, Milbank, S.D.
Justin Carl Makowski, Detroit
Lauren Nicole Maslyk, Canton
Paige Elysemarie McGuire, New Lenox, Ill.
Madalyn Noel Muncy, Warren
Alec Joseph Norkey, Jackson
Hanna Ogawa, Yokohama, Japan
Julie Beth Oosterink, Jenison
Daniel Robert Owens, Rocky River, Ohio
Samantha Elizabeth Pahls, Sturgis
Laura Elizabeth Parker, Edgewater, Md.
Charles Walter Patchak, Jackson
Benjamin Joseph Pollock, Hanover Park, Ill.
Andreana Marie Rosnik, Shelby
Cory Minier Schmidt, Milan, Ohio
Amanda Barbara Schuiling, Zeeland
Rebekah Anne Skinner, Brocton, N.Y.
Morgan Lyndsay Smith, Grand Rapids
Erinn Marie Snoeyink, Hudsonville
Christine Renae Springer, Ann Arbor
Kyle Steven Sutton, Farmington Hills
Jesse David Swatling-Holcomb,Oakland, Calif.
Wayne Brown Titus IV, Canton
John Davis VanderVeen, Clarkston
Jessica Lindsay Wells, Indian Creek, Ill.
Taylor Ann Whitefield, White Lake