Annual Recognition Luncheon Honors Faculty

Posted January 8, 2001

HOLLAND -- Hope College honored faculty members for service, academic achievement and professional involvement during the college's annual recognition luncheon on Monday, Jan. 8.

The luncheon traditionally marks the beginning of the college's second semester. Participating were James E. Bultman, president; Jacob E. Nyenhuis, provost; Alfredo M. Gonzales, assistant provost; Jon J. Huisken, dean for academic services and registrar; Nancy S. Miller, dean for the social sciences; and William D. Reynolds, dean for the arts and humanities. Remarks were also presented by Dr. Orlando L. Taylor, who is dean of the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences at Howard University.

John Van Iwaarden of the mathematics faculty was recognized for 40 years of service, and James M. Zoetewey of the political science faculty was honored for 35 years of service. Faculty honored for 30 years of service were: William Cohen (history), William S. Mungall (chemistry), William D. Reynolds (English, and dean for the arts and humanities) and Jack R. Ridl (English).

Recognized for 25 years of service were: Harvey D. Blankespoor (biology), Susan M. Cherup (education), James M. Gentile (biology, and dean for the natural sciences), Anne E. Irwin (kinesiology) and Peter L. Jolivette (physics). Faculty honored for 20 years of service were: James B. Heisler (economics), William H. Japinga (business administration) and Neal W. Sobania (history, and director of international education).

William Cohen (history) received this year's Provost's Award for Excellence in Teaching. Julie Costello (English) was named a Towsley Research Scholar at Hope. In addition, Maxine DeBruyn (dance) received the first annual Ruth and John Reed Faculty Achievement Award.

Faculty honored for serving on the college's Teaching Enhancement Workshop Committee were: James B. Heisler, chair (economics and business administration), Hersilia Alvarez-Ruf (modern and classical languages), Donald L. Cronkite (biology), Jane Dickie (psychology), John Krupczak Jr. (engineering), Barbara Mezeske (English), William S. Mungall (chemistry), Maura M. Reynolds (modern and classical languages, and director of advising) and John A. Yelding (education).

Graham F. Peaslee (chemistry, and geological and environmental sciences) was recognized for having received the Hope Outstanding Professor Educator (H.O.P.E.) Award in the spring of 2000.

Acknowledged as authors and editors during the past year were: Ion Agheana (modern and classical languages), Janet L. Andersen (mathematics), Albert A. Bell Jr. (history), Barry L. Bandstra (religion), Steven C. Bouma-Prediger (religion), Rodney F. Boyer (chemistry, emeritus), Donald L. Cronkite (biology), John D. Cox (English), Francis G. Fike (English, emeritus), James A. Herrick (communication), Lynn M. Japinga (religion), David J. Klooster (English), Anne R. Larsen (modern and classical languages), Thomas E. Ludwig (psychology), David G. Myers (psychology), R. Richard Ray Jr. (kinesiology), David K. Ryden (political science), John J. Shaughnessy (psychology), Todd Swanson (mathematics), Robert P. Swierenga (A.C. Van Raalte Institute), Elliot A. Tanis (mathematics, emeritus) and Larry J. Wagenaar (Joint Archives of Holland).

Members of the faculty honored for accomplishments as performing artists were Charles Aschbrenner (music), Joan Conway (music), Brian Coyle (music), Mihai Craioveanu (music), Steven Iannacone (dance) and Richard Piippo (music). Members of the art faculty recognized for their work as artists were Bruce McCombs and Steve Nelson. Honored as coaches were Maureen Dunn (volleyball), Bob Ebels (men's golf), Dean Kreps (football), Brian Morehouse (women's basketball), Karen Page (women's tennis) and John Patnott (women's swimming).

Faculty honored for serving as officers of professional organizations included: Maxine DeBruyn (dance), Miguel De La Torre (religion), James M. Gentile (biology, and dean for the natural sciences), James A. Herrick (communication), Richard Piippo (music), William F. Polik (chemistry), Caroline J. Simon (philosophy), J. Jeffery Tyler (religion) and Larry J. Wagenaar (Joint Archives of Holland).

Recognized for receiving honors and awards were: Susan Atefat Peckham (English), Nicole Bennett (chemistry), Donald L. Cronkite (biology), Paul A. DeYoung (physics), Matthew Elrod (chemistry), James M. Gentile (biology, and dean for the natural sciences), Linda Graham (dance), Tamara Bloom George (nursing), Stephen I. Hemenway (English), Peter L. Jolivette (physics), Virginia M. McDonough (biology), Timothy J. Pennings (mathematics), William F. Polik (chemistry) and Robert P. Swierenga (A.C. Van Raalte Institute).

Several faculty members were recognized as recipients of grants and fellowships, including: Janet L. Andersen (mathematics), Marc B. Baer (history), Jackie Bartley (English), Nicole S. Bennett (chemistry), John D. Cox (English), Miguel A. De La Torre (religion), Donatella Delfino (mathematics), James M. Gentile (biology, and dean for the natural sciences), Edward C. Hansen (geological and environmental sciences), Steven Iannacone (dance), Lynn M. Japinga (religion), David P. Jensen (Van Wylen Library), Michael J. Jipping (computer science), James C. Kennedy (history), Joseph F. La Porte (philosophy), K. Gregory Murray (biology), Janice S. Pawloski (physics), Heather L. Sellers (English), Caroline J. Simon (philosophy) and Allen D. Verhey (religion).


Press Releases @ Hope College

hope home page
public relations
about hope
about holland
campus map & tour
directions to hope

giving to hope
gift planning
hope in the news

president's office
press releases
sports releases
today's weather

© 2006 Hope College, Holland, Michigan 49423 616.395.7000