Hope College to Sponsor Annual Model United Nations

Posted February 19, 2001

List of Participating High Schools

HOLLAND -- On Thursday and Friday, March 8 and 9, Hope College will sponsor its 29th annual Model United Nations conference. More than 900 students and faculty from approximately 40 high schools will be participating.

Acting as delegates from the 189 member nations of the United Nations in two General Assemblies, seven Security Councils, one International Court of Justice (ICJ), and an Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC), the students will be taking part in simulated exercises focusing on significant international issues.

Among the issues to be discussed are AIDS, sustainable development, globalization, nuclear proliferation, UN organization reform, status of women, North Korea, Democratic Republic of Congo, Taiwan, Sri Lanka and sanctions against Iraq, as well as a historical crisis, the Falkland Islands in 1982. The International Court of Justice simulation will be seeking an advisory opinion for the establishment of an International Criminal Court.

Model United Nations is designed to give high school students an opportunity to take on the roles of professional diplomats with the goal of achieving a particular country’s national objectives while fostering a desired international consensus for real solutions to questions facing them. The department of political science at Hope College sponsors the event.

Participating students have been working with their high school advisors for several weeks in preparation for the conference, and have been identifying the current issue positions of countries they have chosen to represent. During the conference, they will share knowledge with their peer delegates, striving to attain solutions to international problems.

ECOSOC, Security Council and ICJ members begin their sessions on Thursday evening, continuing all day Friday. General Assembly members arrive on Friday morning, debating throughout the day.

In addition to their sessions, ECOSOC, Security Council and ICJ members also attend a banquet featuring a guest speaker. This year's guest speaker is Rep. Pete Hoekstra, a 1975 Hope College graduate and member of the U.S. House of Representatives.

The Hope College Model United Nations is organized by students in a political science course aimed at the understanding of international politics and the United Nations' role in international disputes. The Hope students serve as session chairpersons and perform other administrative tasks throughout the formation and execution of the event.

The Secretary General for this year's conference is junior Chris Winkler, a social studies composite major from Boyne City. Serving as Deputy Secretary Generals are senior Marcus Brisbo, a political science major from Lansing, and junior Liz Schofield, a political science and social work major from Niles.

Rachel Beaudoin, a senior from Kalmazoo, and Dave VanOpstall, a senior from Hudsonville, are the directors of the General Assemblies. Liz van Houwelingen, a sophomore from Traverse City, and Emily Ward, a sophomore from Ionia, are the Security Council directors, while Jim Plasman, a sophomore from Downers Grove, Ill., is the director of ECOSOC. The International Court of Justice is directed by Chris Vande Bunte, a senior from Freehold, N.J.

Students involved in the General Assemblies are the following: Tomoyo Abe, an exchange student from Fujisawa, Japan; Curt Bannigan, a junior from Bay City; Emma Jones, an exchange student from Denbighshire, Wales, United Kingdom; Geoff McNeil, a junior from Lansing; Courtney Munz, a junior from Mount Prospect, Ill.; Becky Rasdall, a sophomore from Hutchinson, Kan.; Abbey Stauffer, a freshman from Saline; Sakura Tominaga, an exchange student from Yokohama City, Japan; Erica Viegelahn, a freshman from Rogers City; Bethany White, a sophomore from Evansville, Ind.; and Julie Wilcox, a freshman from Saline.

Participating in the Security Council sessions are: Matt Bondy, a sophomore from Petoskey; Dmitri Brown, a freshman from Zeeland; Carla Carrozziere, a sophomore from Rochester, N.Y.; Lindee Claerbout, a sophomore from Oostburg, Wis.; Josh Egedy, a sophomore from Midland Park, N.J.; Vic Gonzalez, a sophomore from Bronx, N.Y.; Branden Johnson, a junior from Galesburg; John Kran, a sophomore from Freesoil; and Jamie Pierce, a sophomore from South Haven.

Also in the Security Council: Laura Baker, a junior from Rochester; Lori Brown, a junior from Cass City; Mona El-Shamaa, a freshman from Greenville; Anthony Grech, a junior from Livonia; Eric Johnson, a sophomore from Battle Creek; Dirk Nykamp, a junior from Grand Haven; Greg Piccolo, a junior from Bethesda, Md.; Steve Robison, a senior from Saline; and Nora Staal, a sophomore from Baldwin, Wis.

ECOSOC participants are the following: Sara Barber, a freshman from Grand Rapids; Robin Brintnall, a junior from Hudsonville; Mark Karadsheh, a freshman from Holland; Steve Miles, a junior from Mt. Pleasant; Lizzy Slentz, a sophomore from Greenville; and Jamie Werth, a junior from Imlay City.

Sam Nichols, a freshman from Lewis, Iowa, will be participating in the International Court of Justice.

Dr. Joel Toppen, visiting assistant professor of political science, is serving as faculty advisor for the students.


Press Releases @ Hope College

hope home page
public relations
about hope
about holland
campus map & tour
directions to hope

giving to hope
gift planning
hope in the news

president's office
press releases
sports releases
today's weather

© 2006 Hope College, Holland, Michigan 49423 616.395.7000