Hope College Orchestra Concert
Presents Beethoven and Brahms

Posted February 28, 2001

HOLLAND -- The Hope College Orchestra will present a concert featuring the works of Beethoven and Brahms on Friday, March 9, at 8 p.m. in Dimnent Memorial Chapel.

The public is invited. Admission is free.

Opening the concert will be overture to "Egmont," Op. 84 by Ludwig von Beethoven. Written for Goethe's prose tragedy, the overture depicts the drama of Egmont's eventual triumph, in his death, over the enemies of his people.

Also featured in the program will be Margaret Kennedy-Dygas, voice instructor with the department of music. As a soprano soloist, she will perform the concert aria "Ah! Perfido" "Perpieta," Op. 65, by Beethoven. The work belongs to the long musical tradition of laments of abandoned women, and encompasses dramatic, intense mood- swings.

To close the program, the orchestra will perform Symphony No. 2 in D major, Op. 73 of Johannes Brahms. The symphony was written in 1877, while Brahms was in southern Austria. Brahms wrote to a friend of his idyllic surroundings: "Here the melodies flow so freely that one must be careful not to trample on them." Brahms incorporates the natural "melodies" into this unusually genial and lyrical symphony.

Dimnent Memorial Chapel is located on College Avenue at 12th Street. Additional information may be obtained by calling the college's department of music at (616) 395-7650.


Press Releases @ Hope College

hope home page
public relations
about hope
about holland
campus map & tour
directions to hope

giving to hope
gift planning
hope in the news

president's office
press releases
sports releases
today's weather

© 2006 Hope College, Holland, Michigan 49423 616.395.7000