Two Chemistry Professors Named
To Program for Young Faculty Leaders

Posted October 24, 2000

HOLLAND -- Dr. Nicole Bennett and Dr. Matthew Elrod of the Hope College chemistry faculty have both been named to the Project Kaleidoscope "Faculty for the 21st Century Network" Class of 2000.

The national network consists of faculty in mathematics, engineering and the sciences who are in the early stages of their careers and who have been identified as able to play a leadership role in undergraduate science at the local and national level. Bennett and Elrod are among 112 faculty nationwide named to the program for 2000.

Established in 1989, Project Kaleidoscope is an informal national alliance of individuals, institutions and organizations committed to strengthening undergraduate science, mathematics, engineering and technology education. The "Faculty for the 21st Century Network," established in 1994, connects young faculty with colleagues and activities to share insights on related topics. Events include the network's annual National Assembly, which this year will be held in Tucson, Ariz., on Friday-Saturday, Dec. 1-2.

Bennett, an assistant professor of chemistry, joined the Hope faculty in 1996. Her primary area of teaching is in organic chemistry, and her research focuses on the synthesis of molecules related to Taxol, a drug used to treat cancer. She completed her bachelor's degree at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill in 1990, and her doctorate at the University of Wisconsin-Madison in 1996.

Elrod, an assistant professor of chemistry and a Towsley Research Scholar at Hope, joined the faculty in 1996. His primary teaching responsibilities are in physical chemistry and general chemistry, and his research emphasis is on atmospheric ozone chemistry. He completed his bachelor's at Grinnell College in 1989, and his doctorate at the University of California at Berkeley in 1994.

Since 1994, more than 1,000 young faculty representing approximately 470 institutions nationwide have been named to the "Faculty for the 21st Century Network." Other members of the Hope faculty named to the network since its inception include Janet Andersen (mathematics), Brian Bodenbender (geology and environmental science), John Krupczak (engineering), Virginia McDonough (biology), Jon Peterson (environmental science), Elizabeth Sanford (chemistry) and Lois Tverberg (biology).


Press Releases @ Hope College

hope home page
public relations
about hope
about holland
campus map & tour
directions to hope

giving to hope
gift planning
hope in the news

president's office
press releases
sports releases
today's weather

© 2006 Hope College, Holland, Michigan 49423 616.395.7000