hope college > van raalte institute   

Mission Statement <
Location & Hours <
Staff <
Current Events <

Institute History

Institute Library <
New and
Recent Books




ACVR Bicentennial Conference


Recent Conferences




Staff Publications <
Annual Reports <
Van Wylen Library <
Joint Archives of Holland <


Dr. Jacob E. Nyenhuis, Director
and Provost Emeritus and Professor Emeritus of Classics, Hope College (616) 395-7171

Dr. Donald J. Bruggink, Senior Research Fellow and James A. H. Cornell Professor of Historical Theology Emeritus, Western Theological Seminary, and General Editor, Historical Series of the RCA
(616) 395-7097

Dr. Earl Wm. Kennedy, Senior Research Fellow and Professor of Religion Emeritus, Northwestern College
(616) 395-7095


Nella Kennedy, MA, Senior Research Fellow and Official Dutch Translator, Van Raalte Institute
(616) 395-7095

Dr. Robert P. Swierenga, A. C. Van Raalte Research Professor; Adjunct Professor of History, Hope College; and Professor Emeritus of History, Kent State University
(616) 395-7172

Dr. Henk Aay, Senior Research Fellow, Sept. 2013. Professor of Geography and Environmental studies, Emeritus; Holder Emeritus of the Frederik Meijer Chair in Dutch Language and Culture (2006-12) at Calvin College; Visiting Research Fellow A. C. Van Raalte Institute, 2012-13.

JoHannah Smith, BA, Office Manager/Editorial Assistant, Van Raalte Institute, (616) 395-7678

Emeritus Staff


Dr. Elton J. Bruins, Founding Director Emeritus (1994-2002), Philip Phelps Jr. Research Professor Emeritus (2004-8), and Evert J. and Hattie E. Blekkink Professor Emeritus of Religion (1966-92), Hope College (616) 395-7170

Adjunct and Honorary Staff

Dr. George Harinck, Honorary Research Fellow, Hope College, and Professor of History, Free University of Amsterdam and Theological Seminary of the Reformed Churches (liberated) at Kampen, the Netherlands.
James Kennedy Dr. James C. Kennedy, Honorary Research Fellow, Hope College, and Professor of Dutch Contemporary History, University of Amsterdam

Dr. Hans Krabbendam, Honorary Research Fellow, Hope College, and Assistant Director, Roosevelt Study Center, Middelburg, the Netherlands


Dr. Jan Peter Verhave, Honorary Research Fellow, Hope College, and Associate Professor, Emeritus, Radboud University Medical Center, Nijmegen, the Netherlands