Faculty and Staff

The English department faculty are a cultivated, cultured and curious group of writers, researchers and academics. They aim to instill a love of literature and writing in all students.

Department Chair

Faculty

  • A photo of Janice Aslanian

    Janice Aslanian

    Adjunct Assistant Professor of English

    Work616.395.7868

    aslanian@hope.edu

    Lubbers Hall-Room 311 126 East 10th Street Holland, MI 49423-3516

  • A photo of Joshua Banner

    Joshua Banner

    Lecturer in English

    Work616.395.7320

    bannerj@hope.edu

    VanZoeren 41 Graves Place Holland, MI 49423

  • A photo of Dr. Rhoda Burton

    Dr. Rhoda Burton

    Associate Professor of English

    Work616.395.7412

    burtonr@hope.edu

    Lubbers Hall-Room 333 126 East 10th Street Holland, MI 49423-3516

  • A photo of Dr. Susanna Childress

    Dr. Susanna Childress

    Assistant Professor of English

    Work616.395.7292

    childress@hope.edu

    Lubbers Hall-Room 315 126 East 10th Street Holland, MI 49423-3516

  • A photo of Dr. David Cho

    Dr. David Cho

    Associate Professor of English and Director of American Ethnic Studies

    Work616.395.7216

    cho@hope.edu

    Lubbers Hall-Room 335 126 East 10th Street Holland, MI 49423-3516

  • A photo of Amy Devanney

    Amy Devanney

    Lecturer in English

    Work616.395.7740

    devanney@hope.edu

    VanZoeren Hall 41 Graves Place Holland, MI 49423

  • A photo of Dr. Natalie Dykstra

    Dr. Natalie Dykstra

    Professor of English

    Work616.395.7615

    ndykstra@hope.edu

    Lubbers Hall-Room 301 126 East 10th Street Holland, MI 49423-3516

  • A photo of Dr. Stephen Hemenway

    Dr. Stephen Hemenway

    Professor of English

    Work616.395.7616

    hemenway@hope.edu

    Lubbers Hall-Room 310 126 East 10th Street Holland, MI 49423-3516

  • A photo of Mark Lewison

    Mark Lewison

    Lecturer in English

    Work616.395.7438

    lewison@hope.edu

    Lubbers Hall-Room 312 126 East 10th Street Holland, MI 49423-3516

  • A photo of Dr. Jesus Montaño

    Dr. Jesus Montaño

    Associate Professor of English

    Work616.395.7973

    montano@hope.edu

    Lubbers Hall-Room 309 126 East 10th Street Holland, MI 49423-3516

  • A photo of Bill Moreau

    Bill Moreau

    Associate Professor of English

    Work616.395.7619

    moreau@hope.edu

    Lubbers Hall-Room 319 126 East 10th Street Holland, MI 49423-3516

  • A photo of Dr. Pablo Peschiera

    Dr. Pablo Peschiera

    Associate Professor of English

    Work616.395.7379

    peschiera@hope.edu

    Lubbers Hall-Room 308 126 East 10th Street Holland, MI 49423-3516

  • A photo of Dr. Dianne Portfleet

    Dr. Dianne Portfleet

    Associate Professor of English

    Work616.395.7119

    portfleet@hope.edu

    Lubbers Hall-Room 314 126 East 10th Street Holland, MI 49423-3516

  • A photo of Regan Postma-Montaño

    Regan Postma-Montaño

    Lecturer/English

    Work616.395.7463

    postmamontano@hope.edu

    Lubbers Hall 126 East 10th Street Holland, MI 49423

  • A photo of Gregory Rappleye

    Gregory Rappleye

    Lecturer in English

    Work616.395.7868

    rappleye@hope.edu

    Lubbers Hall-Room 302 126 East 10th Street Holland, MI 49423-3516

  • A photo of Richard Smith

    Richard Smith

    Adjunct Associate Professor of English

    Work616.395.7868

    smithr@hope.edu

    Lubbers Hall-Room 311 126 East 10th Street Holland, MI 49423-3516

Staff